Project 1 Stage 1: Brainstorming ideas

20140224-114653.jpg

The hardest part about starting a new module is just getting stuck into the first exercises. I have carried put some sketchbook work and have been considering the idea of working my experiences working at the mill into my first assignment. The course asks for a closely observed study of an environment I have spent considerable time in. I asked my tutor if she was happy for me to consider the Quarry Bank Mill and my experiences there and she is happy with this.

The first exercise is a brainstorming exercise. I have decided to limit my brainstorm for the time being to the mill and it’s machinery. There are of course so many other aspects which I may be able to use such as the grounds, gardens, exhibitions, apprentice house and kitchen garden and my mind is racing with all sorts of ideas but I think the sensible thing to do is limit my range of thoughts at this time.

I was surprised at the initial outpouring of words and themes! And was glad I had written them in fabric tabs which I can group and may around with before they are fixed to the page.

20140224-131837.jpg

20140224-131848.jpg

Below are the final outcomes of my brainstorming. Two pages of themes and ideas with the second page representing the warmth, rythym, form and colours of the mule room. I found that there were just far to many words to be cohesively included into one, or three final samples, however I think if I progress the second group into at least one sample I will have the option of returning to the unused words and ideS.

20140224-144715.jpg

20140224-144726.jpg

One thought on “Project 1 Stage 1: Brainstorming ideas

  1. Well done on limiting yourself from the beginning – yes it would be so easy to go with so many different aspects of the mill. I love the way you’ve recorded your brainstorming, and am looking forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

