Acid dyes roving – Purple Pansies

having spent most of last year experimenting with natural dyes for my course I decided I would just like a little experimentation time with some acid dyes. These are permanent dyes which fix to protein fibres (animal hair) using acid (such as lemon juice or vinegar) as a fixative. Inspired by the bright smiling faces of the vibrant purple pansies I set to seeing if I could recreate the look! 

  

I am really quite pleased with the outcome, and wondered if it was a bit to highly contrasted? Anyway the proof of the roving is in the spinning, which has dulled the contrast down considerably and I am really quite happy with the outcome. 

   

  

   

  

  

  

3 thoughts on “Acid dyes roving – Purple Pansies

  1. This wool is lovely Miriam! I have on my “todolist” to start to work on wool (apart from OCA). I have already introduced my silk shawls and thought of trying to do some wool shawls for a winter collection. However have to catch up with my assignments in Printmaking . About your private sphere – are you quitting OCA for good? Or – do you have enough with “time” to be able to come back and still be able to do your degree? Just curious… Ann-Marie

    • Hi Ann-Marie, I have another four years to complete this level then another four for the next, I don’t know what will happen in the future but for now I am enjoying the extra time I have available through not studying to experiment a little more 😊

Leave a comment